MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 011

Bulge

Hannah Levy

日期
23.05.2024 | 22.06.2024
画廊
文件
新闻稿

MASSIMODECARLO画廊荣幸呈现美国艺术家汉娜·利维 (HANNAH LEVY) 在伦敦空间的首场个展《BULGE》。利维的金属、玻璃和硅胶雕塑如同禁果,在危险逼近时诱惑着观众。其作品让人想起家里或办公室里的家具、硬件、假肢,以及人体和食物,暴露出一种潜在的焦虑:功能从形式中被移除,仅留下神秘和超凡的感受。

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 002
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 001
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 003

汉娜·利维借鉴画廊所在的于1723年打造的建筑,保留空间原有的装饰风格和绿色墙壁。三脚架、球状人形物、被钢爪刺穿的玻璃壁灯,以及拟人化的家具形态,在超现实的家庭生活场所中既不世俗,却又自然(利维创作的绿色地毯进一步实现了该感受)。


自2022年以来,利维在雕塑中融入玻璃,呈现出全新的维度。艺术家将材料扭曲并塑造成块状或皱缩的形状,下垂并从抛光的金属边界中爆裂而出。画廊的正中央,一只变异昆虫,或一位外星访客,从玻璃和钢铁中浮现。蹒跚的幼虫状结构采用十八世纪晚期威尼斯灯具技术:玻璃制作时被小心地吹过不锈钢笼,滚烫的表面挤压金属缝隙,形成膨胀的外观。墙壁上安装着一系列不锈钢爪子,如同新艺术运动的壁灯。每个爪子似乎都捏着一个玻璃球,为作品注入诡异的感官体验。

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 005
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 008
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 009
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 010

利维根据自己的需求调整传统工艺,创造新的方法,手工打磨并焊接金属,呈现出结构的实体形式,将熟悉与威胁的感受完美融合。一个扭曲的现代主义椅子雕塑被放置在细长的尖头腿上。硅胶如同绷紧的肉,拉伸在钢的结构之中,模糊人与物的界限。在另一件硅胶和不锈钢作品中,蜘蛛状结构呈现出中世纪的感受。伸展的硅胶护套将蛛形动物集中在一种反复出现的恐惧与觉醒的情绪中,让人联想到路易丝·布尔乔亚 (LOUISE BOURGEOIS) 的标志性作品“MAMAN”:同样以有趣的方式深入到动物形态的领域。


画廊的住宅氛围掩盖了其中展出的奇怪“居民”:窗户上挂着一根被放大好几倍的下垂的硅胶芦笋。两只固定在墙上的手工雕刻不锈钢爪子正抓着橡胶蔬菜。功能性变成一种幻觉,让每种形式都悬浮在艺术家常说的“设计炼狱”中:一种介于两者之间的边缘状态,潜力四溢。

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 012

The Artist

Learn more
Hannah Levy

汉娜·利维(生于1991年,先工作居住在美国纽约市)通过多样化的势态和完美的执行力与技法,操纵不同质地的材料,如硅胶、玻璃、石头和抛光金属,打造出能够激发感官体验的触觉雕塑。艺术家挪用日常物体,加入意想不到的材料,扭曲它们的原有形式特性,使它们拥有看似陌生的全新面貌。


艺术家将被不断拉伸着、像肉一样的硅胶不稳定地放置在坚硬的电枢上,动物般的形态如同昆虫的腿、家用电器、衣服和健身设备。利维最近在创作媒介中加入玻璃,延续着她对看似对立的物质相融合的探索。传统工艺与实验工艺结合,使玻璃变形、坍落、膨胀、下垂,与金属融为一体。利维创造出一种熟悉、奇怪、且极富吸引力的东西,一种存在于艺术家自称的“设计炼狱”短暂边缘上的物体。


艺术家将二十世纪经典设计与似肉的铸件相匹配,将对有机物的重塑注入完美几何的现代主义理想,强调了现代设计中隐藏的感官性。虽然她的线性金属造型将观者的注意力吸引到标志着上世纪中期美学的建筑细节上,它们的皮肤质感的护套混淆了生与死、生物与假肢之间的区别。利维的作品来源于超现实主义对神秘和卑鄙的迷恋,同时对上世纪的物质文化体现出致敬又矛盾的观点。



汉娜·利维曾获得纽约康奈尔大学的学士学位(2013年),以及法兰克福STÄDELSCHULE大学的硕士学位(2015年)。近期机构个展包括:伯克利艺术博物馆和太平洋电影档案馆 (BAMPFA),加州,美国(2022年);芝加哥艺术俱乐部,伊利诺伊州(2021年)。其他重要展览包括:CCS BARD HESSEL博物馆,纽约,美国;雷尼博物馆,温哥华,加拿大;奥尔德里奇当代艺术博物馆,里奇菲尔德,美国;MoMA PS1,纽约,美国;第59届威尼斯双年展(2022年);第16届里昂当代艺术双年展(2022年)。其作品被众多机构收藏,包括:内华达艺术博物馆,美国;斯德哥尔摩现代博物馆,瑞典;路易斯安那现代艺术博物馆,美国;维多利亚国家美术馆,澳大利亚;PHILARA FOUNDATION,德国;G2 KUNSTHALLE,德国。

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 011

Bulge

Hannah Levy

Dates
23.05.2024 | 22.06.2024
Gallery
File
PRESS RELEASE

MASSIMODECARLO is delighted to announce Bulge, American artist Hannah Levy’s debut solo exhibition with the gallery and in London. Levy’s metal, glass, and silicone sculptures are like forbidden fruits, tempting the viewer as danger looms. Reminiscent of home or office furniture, hardware, prosthetics, as well as human flesh and food, the works expose a latent anxiety as function is removed from form, revealing themselves to be uncanny and otherworldly.

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 002
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 001
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 003

Drawing from the gallery’s architecture, dating back to 1723, Levy leans into and pushes against the space’s decorative accents and historically preserved green-painted walls. Tripod-legged, bulbous humanoids, glass wall sconces punctured by steel claws, and anthropomorphic furniture-like forms are both unearthly and naturally in situ within a surreal site of domesticity (further realized by Levy’s inclusion of a matching green carpet).


Since 2022, Levy's sculptures have taken on a new dimension with the integration of glass. The artist twists and molds the material into lumpy or scrunched shapes that droop over and burst from their polished metal confines. Standing erect in the center of the gallery, a mutant insect or perhaps alien visitor emerges from glass and steel. The lurching, larvae-like structure engages a technique drawn from late 18th century Venetian lighting fixtures. Glass is cautiously blown through a stainless-steel cage, its hot surface pressed through the gaps in the metal to achieve a distended appearance. On the walls, a series of stainless-steel claws are installed like Art Nouveau sconces. Each talon appears to squeeze a swollen orb of blown glass, imbuing the fixtures with eerie sensuality.

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 005
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 008
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 009
MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 010

Grinding and welding metal by hand until the structures assume their corporeal forms, Levy humorously adapts traditional processes to her needs, creating new methods that capture her unique blend of the familiar and the menacing. A sculpture resembling a distorted Modernist chair perches on extended spiky legs. Silicone is stretched over the steel structure like taut flesh, blurring the lines between human and object. In another silicone and stainless-steel work, a spider-like structure takes on the formal qualities of a midcentury ottoman. A stretched silicone sheath centers the arachnid work in a reoccurring sentiment of fear and arousal inviting comparison to Louise Bourgeois’ iconic Maman, similarly delving into the realm of zoomorphic forms with playful intentions.


As the gallery pulses with a residential ambience that belies its poisonous inhabitants, a droopy silicone asparagus enlarged many times over is perched in the window of 55 South Audley Street. Two hand-carved stainless-steel claws fixed to the wall grasp the rubbery vegetable as it lays flaccid. Function becomes an illusion, leaving each form suspended in what the artist often refers to as a “design purgatory” - a limbo state of in-between, bulging with potential.

MASSIMODECARLO Hannah Levy 012

The Artist

Learn more
Hannah Levy

Hannah Levy was born in New York City, USA in 1991. She currently works and lives in New York.


With spare gestures and skilled execution, Levy manipulates texturally incongruous materials, such as silicone, glass, stone, and polished metal, to create tactile sculptures that provoke sensory experience. The artist appropriates commonplace objects and defamiliarizes them by using unexpected materials and warping their formal properties.


Stretched flesh-like expanses of silicone are held taught or perched precariously on rigid armatures, zoomorphic forms that invite comparison to insect legs, household fixtures, clothing, and exercise equipment. Levy’s recent addition of glass into her material lexicon continues her exploration of the material encounter of two seemingly opposing mediums. A mix of traditional and experimental processes are used to alter, slump, swell and sag the glass as it submits to its metal opponent. Levy makes that which is familiar, deeply strange and magnetic, creating objects that exist in a fleeting limbo of what the artist calls “design purgatory.”


Matching the allusions of 20th century design with fleshy casts, the artist imbues the modernist ideal of immaculate geometry with a jarring return to organic matter, accentuating the pre-existing sensuality hidden in modern design. While her linear, metallic forms draw our attention to the subtle details of construction that mark the mid-century aesthetic, their skin-like sheaths resist this comparison, confusing the separation between living and dead, animal and prosthetic. Levy’s work is indebted to the Surrealist fascination with the uncanny and the abject while taking a retrospective and ambivalent view on the material culture of the past century.


Hannah Levy received a BFA from Cornell University in Ithaca, NY (2013), and a Meisterschüler title from Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main, Germany (2015). With recent institutional solo exhibitions at the Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA), CA (2022) and the Arts Club of Chicago, IL (2021), the artist has been included in exhibitions at CCS Bard Hessel Museum, Annandale-on-Hudson, NY; the Rennie Museum, Vancouver, Canada; the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, Ridgefield, CT; MoMA PS1, New York, NY; among others, and was invited to participate in the 59th Venice Biennale (2022) and the 16th Lyon Biennale of Contemporary Art (2022). Levy’s work is included in public collections including the Nevada Museum of Art; Reno, NV, Moderna Museet, Stockholm, Sweden; the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk, Denmark; the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia; the Philara Foundation, Dusseldorf, Germany; and the G2 Kunsthalle, Leipzig, Germany.